Meet Nigeria Governors Who Defected To Opposition Parties

Meet Nigeria Governors Who Defected To Opposition Parties
Governors of Nigeria who defected to opposition parties

Below is the list of Nigerian governors who defected to opposition parties.

1. Rotimi Amaechi (Rivers)

Rotimi amaechi
Rotimi amaechi

In 2007, Amaechi contested and won the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) gubernatorial primary for Rivers. His name was replaced by the party, an action that he challenged in court. The case finally reached the Supreme Court. He became governor on October 26, 2007 after the Supreme Court ruled that he was the legitimate PPD candidate and winner of the April 2007 gubernatorial election in Rivers State.

In August 2013, Amaechi was among the seven governors who formed the G-7 faction within the PDP. In November 2013, Amaechi, along with five members of the G-7, defected to the newly formed All Progressives Congress (APC) and became director general of Muhammadu Buhari’s presidential campaign.

2. Aliyu Wamakko (Sokoto)

Rotimi amaechi

Aliyu Wamakko successfully ran for governor of Sokoto in April 2007 on the platform of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) and took office on May 29, 2007.

Wamakko, along with five members of the G-7, defected to the opposition APC.

3. Murtala Nyako (Adamawa)

Murtala nyako

Nyako was elected Governor of Adamawa in April 2007.

In February 2008, the Electoral Petitions Appeal Court annulled his election, citing poor electoral practices. President James Barka was sworn in as interim governor on February 26, 2008.

Nyako was re-elected with a landslide victory and won all 21 local government areas in new elections. She took office on April 29, 2008. Shortly thereafter, the House initiated measures to impeach Nyako, but was dissuaded after the personal intervention of President Umaru Yar’Adua.

Nyako, along with five G-7 members, defected to the All Progressives Congress (APC).

4. Abdulfatah Ahmed (Kwara)

Abdulfatah Ahmed

In the April 26, 2011 elections, Ahmed won the gubernatorial elections on the platform of the Popular Democratic Party (PDP).

Ahmed first defected along with five G-7 members to the opposition party the Congress of All Progressives and left the Congress of All Progressives (APC) on July 31, 2018 for the PPD.

He revealed his decision at the time with former Senate President Bukola Saraki.

5. Musa Kwankwaso (Kano)

Musa Kwankwaso

Kwankwaso was elected Governor of Sokoto on May 29, 1999. His first term was highly eventful due to various other groups that opposed his alleged arrogance.

In 2011, Kwankwaso was re-elected for a second term as Governor of Kano State from May 29, 2011 to May 29, 2015.

Kwankwaso was among the five G-7 members who defected to the opposition APC.

6. Aminu Tambuwal (Sokoto)

Aminu Tambuwal
Tambuwal was elected Speaker of the House of Representatives under the PDP platform, but defected to APC in 2014.

He won the APC gubernatorial candidacy and defeated the PPD candidate in the 2015 elections.

7. Godwin Obaseki (Edo)

Godwin obaseki

On September 29, 2016, Obaseki was elected Governor of Edo on the APC platform. In 2020, Obaseki sought re-election under the APC, but the party’s selection committee controversially disqualified him for alleged discrepancies in his certificates.

On Friday, June 19, Obaseki defected to the PDP and was re-elected for a second term.

8. David Umahi (Ebonyi)

David umahi

Umahi was elected governor on April 12, 2015 on the PDP platform. He was re-elected in 2019 on the same platform.

On November 11, 2020, Umahi came out in favor of APC, claiming that the PDP has not treated the southeast well.

Click Here To Download

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.